3 Day Quote Challenge: Awareness

Hello, fellow bloggers! I was invited by Nicole Lyons from The Lithium Chronicles to take part in 3 Day Quote Challenge. My goal is to start on a good note to let our minds rest from all the terrible news surround us. I hope you enjoy reading, and I challenge you to participate as well.

Most of the time I remain silence out of words to explain what’s going on inside my mind, and my heart. I’ve found myself lately reading my extensive psychological evaluation to cope with depression. My clinical diagnosis is not going to offer any answers or revelations -I’ve turned it into my personal guide of “unfortunate events” but also as the tiny light I needed to find the right kind of therapy and to reflect how far I’ve come from all the turmoil. Most specifically, my goal is to challenge myself to identify signs of depression, whereas it could be a cognitive distortion ruled by the emotional mind. Having a Bipolar diagnosis means I will have to manage the manifestation of my disease for the rest of my life. On the other hand, it doesn’t mean my life is going to be ruled by a bipolar diagnosis. My intention is to stop putting too much emphasis on depression symptoms; being aware rather than crying over them. When we dwell too much about our afflictions the vulnerability of feeling that dreadful emptiness clouds the focus and effectiveness of what really works.

0465fcdbd577db273a2f6978248612ff


Embracing the emotional side it’s a milestone indeed, but it shouldn’t be the focal point when struggling with depression symptoms. Building positive experiences mindfully, In-the-moment skills, enables an individual to reaffirm their steps into the right direction to the bridge of their minds. A reasonable mind will allow a willingness to step out of the black-and-white zone, to greener pastures. Consequently, our environment will be harmonious and peaceful, this is very important especially in office spaces. Stigma in the work zone still an issue in corporate America, the most effective way to eradicate stigma at work in my opinion, is to leave any distortions thoughts aside and show the confidence by doing things differently. Again, it takes the time to fully connect ourselves without leaving the emotional part behind, but if we understand these concepts, we’ll be able to demand the rights and accommodations we deserve.

 

Stress

The vicious cycle of Stress keeps on adding pressure so tight it diverts us from enjoying the small moments in life; the physical response keeps us away from engaging in family activities, holidays, vacations, etc…DBT therapy has helped me tremendously to communicate assertively rather than passively or aggressively. Learning how to listen to our bodies, minds, and emotions. I focus my attention fully to photography, although not a professional, I spend 1 hour every day taking pictures and working on new projects with photo manipulation techniques. While you’re reading this, I’d like to ask you to place both of your hands on your lap and do the below exercise for 3 minutes:

Learning to recognize your daily stresses is the first step. Depression attacks our thoughts: “I hate my life” “I don’t have time” it attacks our emotions; we’re more prone to irritability, angriness, hopeless feelings. The physical sensations, the alarm signal are on- our heart is racing, headaches, difficulty concentrating, restless, etc… These entire factors combine will affect our behavior by using street drugs, over medicating with prescription medication, not being able to sleep, shouting, not eating or eating too much, arguing. Let’s do another exercise shall we? This time, I want you to look this photograph and describe in the comments section if you’d like, or writing it down on a paper, what do you see? What does this image makes you feel? do you like the colors? Observe-describe-participate.

rainbow

Depression can hit so hard there will be times we won’t be able to get out of bed. Just take one step at a time planning too far ahead; it only creates more stress and guilty feelings. Don’t underestimate your ability to cope, our problems won’t change, will face the same stressors over and over, but thinking differently is what helps. No one can cope with our responsibilities, the pain, the frustration, tell to yourself: “This will pass, it’s only temporary” comfort yourself, get in contact with others. Remind yourself having a flashback is okay for people who have experienced trauma, allow the tears to flow; you are loved, not crazy.

41d92a9bdfc230de5eff97d0d68fb7af

**Update**

Today I would like to invite the following three blogs to take part:

Jackie Cioffa

Mary Rowen

Sarah Fader

Challenge Rules:

  1. Post three consecutive days.
  2. You can pick one or three quotes per day.
  3. Challenge three different bloggers per day.

13 thoughts on “3 Day Quote Challenge: Awareness

  1. I love all of this, Steph! This hits me, “Remind yourself having a flashback is okay for people who have experienced trauma, allow the tears to flow; you are loved, not crazy.” Thank you ❤

  2. I related to every word, so many wonderful lessons here for everyone not only those living with BiPolar Disorder.
    You are a light in a dark world, and you are allowed to feel vulnerable and afraid. Crying is a release of the stress build up.
    Thank you for the mindfulness tools and hope.
    Xx Jackie

  3. Thank you for this, Stephanie! Your post truly calmed me, just reading it and doing the breathing exercise was really helpful. I feel so grateful to have you in my life. The last few days have been tough ones for me, because of world events, but also due to some stuff happening in my family. Thank you for reminding me that thinking differently is what helps. I will plan to share this post with a person I love who is hurting right now, and am also honored to accept your challenge. It may take me a day or two to get the first post up, but I’d love to be part of this. xo

    1. You have no idea how happy I feel knowing this post helped you at least for a few minutes. I understand how you feel; I had to get away from CNN and other news outlets; is too much pain to bear. I can’t wait to read your post. I’ll send the jeans this week I promise! ❤

  4. I also am very happy to have had your support. This is incredible writing & your thoughts were articulated so well. Now more than ever we need voices like yours and all those who commented & read . This weekend was horrific. I had to turn off my newsfeed . I found support from not just you but those who commented here in this thread. I found it in the voices of those you shared in this amazing collection.

    1. Thank you Shareen. You’re an incredible woman who speaks of what is right. I’m so glad to have met you; real women empowering themselves for a brighter future. Much blessings to you lovely.

Leave a Reply

